Run streak continues

Today was Day 7 of the Holiday Run Streak I started on Thanksgiving. Shuba and I ran a mile and a half both last evening and this morning. The idea is to run at least a mile a day every day from Thanksgiving to New Year’s Day.

I’ve discovered Shuba, our 13-year-old German shorthair pointer, is much better behaved if she has regular exercise. She didn’t go out with me on Thanksgiving when I ran 5 miles. I did not purposely leave her home, but she wasn’t at the door or at my feet as I was getting ready to head out that morning. We went to my one of my sisters’ house for Thanksgiving dinner in Central Indiana and came home to find that Shuba had somehow gotten a bag of garbage off a kitchen counter and she and Domino (our 16-year-old pointer terrier mix) had made a mess of things in the kitchen. On top of that, twice in the days leading up to Thanksgiving Shuba pulled down a bag of food and ate my wife’s cooking chocolate. Chocolate, by the way, is poisonous to dogs.

Shuba survived the chocolate, though she left puke and runny sh*t in her wake for a few days. I’m guessing she was still not in shape to run Thanksgiving morning. Now Shuba is enjoying the run streak with me.

domino
Domino, our 16-year-old pointer terrier mix, likes to hang out under the living room chair. He is partly blind and probably suffered a stroke either late last year or early this year. 

Smoky Mountains fire

In September, I made my first prolonged trip to Tennessee. I had driven through the state before on my way to Florida or South Carolina or Mississippi but had never spent the night there. In September, I drove down to Tennessee to run in the Great Smoky Mountains Half Marathon, sponsored by Vacation Races. The race itself was outside the national park. It finished in Townsend, Tennessee a few miles from an entrance to the park. When I was looking for a place to stay, one of the towns I looked at was Gatlinburg. Today, Gatlinburg is a smoldering mess. A fellow blogger who often vacationed in Gatlinburg said the condos she and her family regularly stayed in is nothing but rubble now.

I’ve seen the results of results of forest fires when I’ve been to Yellowstone National and to Mesa Verde National parks and to Brown County State Park in Indiana. Once when we were in Colorado, we saw the haze in the distance from a forest fire, but I’ve never been near a forest fire. Here in Indiana, we generally get a lot of rain and I don’t worry about fires. But as Smokey Bear says, “It only takes one spark to start a wildfire,” and my understanding is that at least some of the fires in the Gatlinburg area were the result of humans, not lightning.

yellow2
The bottoms of some trees in Yellowstone National Park are charred from a forest fire. The elk don’t seem to mind. 

 

Leave a Reply

