Back home again in Indiana

Tuesday, we flew back to Indiana after a week in Florida. Wednesday, I went for my first run in a week. I spent a week in Florida and not once did I run. I’m such a slacker at times. I came up with tons of excuses not to run: too hot, too windy, territory too unfamiliar, blah, blah, blah.

024
Tigers ace Justin Verlander delivers a pitch against the Pittsburgh Pirates during a spring training game at Lakeland, Florida. Tigers first baseman Miguel Cabrera is in position to make a play.

Wednesday, Richard, a fellow Team RWB member, and I ran for a bit over 3.4 miles in windy conditions at Salomon Farm Park, starting near the YMCA.

March8run
Richard and I after our 3.4-mile run Wednesday evening.

In Florida, instead of running, we went to three Detroit Tigers spring training baseball games (all losses), found more than 20 geocaches, visited my wife’s 90-something aunt, visited my wife’s cousin and her family, went to a beach in Clearwater and to a beach near Titusville. We also went to a space museum at Cape Canaveral. All in all, it was full week, even without putting on my running shoes.

apollo 1
Fellow Hoosier and Purdue graduate Virgil “Gus” Grissom, far left, was the commander of Apollo 1. The Apollo 1 astronauts were killed in training accident on the launch pad, the first US astronauts killed.

 

Our geocaching included urban caches in Lakeland as well as caches in nature preserves. We found several in Lower Green Swamp Nature Preserve, a Hillsborough County park.

setting sun
Setting sun, Clearwater, Florida
Leave a Reply

